There are three types of users: Standard, Limited, and Visitors.

Standard Users:

Manage Forms, Manage Submissions, & View Data

There are three different Standard user types: Owner, Director, and Processor. All of these users can 1) Manage Forms 2) Manage Submissions and 3) View Data

An Owner user has complete access to an account. They can view and edit all forms, view all submissions, create tags and stages, create triggers, assign users to submissions, customize the account settings, as well as update and create new users.

A Director user has access to all forms that they have created or that have been shared with them. If Directors ARE the author of a form, They can give other users permissions to view/manage submissions and edit that form. If Directors are NOT the author of a form, then they can be given permissions to view/manage submissions and edit this form. If Directors do not have any permissions set on a form, they can be given access to view/manage individual submissions by being assigned to them by the form author or an Owner user. 

Directors can build and customize portal pages in the Service Center, but must be given access to the site first by an Owner user. Here is an article on how to grant Site Access to a Director

A Processor user has the same exact access as director users, but they cannot build and customize portal pages in the Service Center.

Authors of a form can give access to other users on a submission level, or form level. 

  • Authors of a form can give other users access to edit the form or view/manage submissions in the permissions settings. Click here to view instructions on permissions settings.
  • Authors or those given access to manage individual submissions can give other users the ability to manage submissions by assigning them in the submissions manager. Assignments can also be modified automatically using triggers or the submission rule builder.

When users are assigned to submissions. These will show up in the “assigned to me” portion of their form lobby. 

Limited Users:

Manage Submissions, & View Data

Limited users can view and manage data, but they cannot create or edit forms. There is one type of limited user, and Analyst user.

An Analyst user is meant to review and process submissions and not to create and manage forms. They will only have access to the Submissions Manager and can be allowed to either:

  1. See Submission Data - If an Analyst user is only given permission to View Submissions and not Manage Submissions, then they will only be able to see the submissions. 
  2. Manage Submissions through the Permissions Modal - This means that all submissions received on a form can have a stage set, tag applied, or user assigned by that Analyst User. 
  3. Assigned to individual submissions through the Submission Rule Builder or manual assignment - This means they can only set stages, apply tags or assign users to the submissions they themselves have been assigned to.

Since Analyst Users cannot be the creators or authors of forms if you downgrade a Standard User to an Analyst it will ask you to re-assign any forms they are the  author of to someone else. 

 
Visitor User:
Can view data on forms they have submitted or that have been shared with them.

Visitor Users are the only type of free users. A Visitor User will only have access to view their own submissions. These are free and unlimited and can be created at the signup page. 

They can be associated with a submission by logging in before they fill out a form. Here are instructions about restricting a form by login.

Visitors can also be associated with a submission if you use the submission rule builder’s co-registration feature. If they don’t have an account yet they will have a visitor account created for them and receive an email asking them to complete their registration. If they already have an account it will automatically associate the submission with them. 

Please note that Visitor users will not be able to be assigned to submissions or process any submissions.

User Chart:

In the image below Submitted means this submission is associated with the user because they filled it out while logged in or the Co-Registration feature was used (see previous section).  Permission means that they have been granted this ability through the Permissions Modal. 

If you would like to learn more about how you can grant access to submissions please refer to our article on the various ways to grant access to individual submissions as well as how to grant access to other abilities like editing a form or processing submissions through our Permissions Modal .

Did this answer your question?